Community champions presented with Platinum Jubilee Medals


Share post:

Article content

On Jan. 12, the main floor of the Anohka Distillery near Carvel in Parkland County was transformed into a hall of celebration.

Article content

Twenty citizens of Lac Ste. Anne, Parkland and Sturgeon counties were honoured with the Platinum Jubilee Medal.

“It was an honour and a privilege as the MLA to recognize the Platinum Jubilee Medal recipients as well as the runners-up,” said Lac Ste. Anne–Parkland MLA Shane Getson.

“Simply put, these are very humble, hard-working people who set a tremendous example for the rest of us to follow when it comes to being the heart of their communities.”

Early in 2022, the Queen Elizabeth II Platinum Jubilee Medal was released in celebration of the queen’s 70 years of service. The milestone made her the longest reigning monarch in the history of the Commonwealth.

Related story: Lotholzes aim to be involved in community, take home platinum

Article content

Each MLA was given the daunting task of selecting just 20 constituents to receive this prestigious honour.

This was no easy feat, and serious consideration was given to every nomination that was submitted.

Twenty medal recipients were chosen, each receiving a framed certificate commemorating their achievement along with the Platinum Jubilee Medal.

Tears flowed as these selfless community members were honoured by their peers for their tireless work in creating better communities around them, and by extension, improving the world that we all live in.

Ten runners-up were also recognized for their contributions, as no act of service to your community is considered a small one.

Getson met with Platinum Jubilee “runners-up.” Gathered were (l-r) Connie Curtis, Getson, Richard Curtis, Christian Hammel, Chris Alden, Rhonda Martin (on behalf of Ruth Shultz) and Terry Slemko. Photo by Bobby Jean Yeoman

Queen Elizabeth had stated that she wanted any Platinum Jubilee celebration to be an occasion for enjoying a sense of togetherness and optimism about the future.

Article content

As the recipients and their guests enjoyed afternoon refreshments after the presentations, this sense of togetherness was evident in the laughter and conversation that was shared.

These deserving recipients know that service to your community isn’t just a onetime action.

It’s the small, consistent actions over time that add up to make a huge difference. They understand that by giving back to their communities, they are leaving a lasting legacy, and we can all learn from their examples.

Medal recipients: Mychal Pal, Brenda Rosadiuk, Alvin Benson, Reginald Faulkner, Frederick Lindsay, Peter Trynchy, Steven Hoyda, Yvonne Slemko, Father Les Kwiatkowski, Robert Clark, Lorinda McCool, Zenobia Mocarski, David Roberts, Robert Walker, Ian Hosler, Tracey Alden, Ian Gillan, Bernard Lehman, Kenneth  Kowalski, Adam Naslund

Runners-up: Robert McCue, Terry Slemko, Connie Curtis, Richard Curtis, John Hodgson, Chris Hamel, Chris Alden, Ruth Shultz, Tina Maslyk, Lucille Strobl

Submitted by the Office of Shane Getson, Lac Ste. Anne–Parkland MLA

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles


PRESS RELEASEPublished January 30, 2023 America’s 59 million freelancers need to buckle up and assume the ‘brace’ position;...

$250 Main Event ($500,000 GTD) | 2023 888poker XL Winter Series

Players have been duking it out for a couple of weeks trying to earn Day 2 seats...

Universal Credit LATEST: Thousands could see benefits STOPPED under new rules – check if you’re affected

Parents can get their hands on FREE nappies with this new scheme With the cost of living continuing...

How I’d spend £9 a day on FTSE shares to target £1,000 in passive income

One of my favourite passive income ideas is buying blue-chip shares that can pay me dividends. That...